Fuji X-Pro2 at a soccer game

When it comes to photographing any type of action I consider myself to be a complete novice but I recently had a chance to take Fuji X-Pro2 and Fuji XF 100-400mm to a soccer game and I was quite pleased with the results.

DSCF1737 DSCF1751
DSCF1917 DSCF1896

This was a women soccer league game between Houston Dash and New York Flash. It was my first experience going to a women soccer game and to my surprise it was every bit as fast and action filled as the men’s game. The crowd was great and despite the hot and humid weather the players gave the fans plenty to cheer about.

DSCF1782 DSCF1787
DSCF1761 DSCF1883

Even though I have had the X-Pro2 for couple of months, I had only used it with primes and XF 16-55 f2.8 lens. So this was my first outing with the Fuji XF 100-400 mm monster. Despite having the additional grip on X-Pro2 the camera did not feel very comfortable with the big lens and I had to constantly rest my elbow against the front seat as my arms would start aching due to uncomfortable grip and weight.

The camera settings that I used were C-AF, continuous low frame rate and alternated between single point and zone AF points. Auto focus worked well most of the time but there were times when it would get confused and either front focus or back focus but it never completely lost focus. Also, AF hunting was a non issue.

Since X-Pro2 has an OVF, it is great for following action without the usual EVF lag that is a common issue with mirrorless cameras. Unfortunately, the down side to it is that with a long zoom like XF 100-400mm the framing outline becomes so small that it makes it difficult to determine where the focusing point is in the framing. So I ended up using EVF most of the time which worked well.

Half time show Half time show
Half time show Half time show

Overall, the camera and lens performed well but the main issue I had was with the handling because X-Pro 2 body is not really designed to work with long zooms and I am sure that X-T2 is a lot better choice for this type of shooting.

(All pictures are OOC jpegs with slight PP and some cropping)

One thought on “Fuji X-Pro2 at a soccer game

  1. Pingback: Fuji X-Pro 2 Review | Arsalan's Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

